The long awaited Katie Betty Sewing Bee Sewathon Leather Jacket!

Wowee readers, you would not believe the past few months. It’s been emotional. That’s all I can say. My trusty sewing machine has been there by my side the whole step of the way and together we’ve created something beautiful! I’m very proud to present my very 80’s faux leather bomber jacket!

20150408_181447

I kicked off with my new favourite fabric, FAUX LEATHER! It’s been a revelation, so thank you GBSB! The sleeves are made from a pre-quilted faux leather. I’ve been eyeing up this stuff for a while and I never knew what on earth you’d do with it! Except maybe a bag or something, but then Sales Director, Vicki, at work did a quick write up on a post she’d seen by A Stitching Odyssey, “Violet is a Bad Girl“. The use of one of our quilted fabrics (a quilted jersey to be precise, with a wine fleck jersey we’re all cooing over in the offices) really inspired me! I was on a mission to use one of them. My partner in crafty crime Becki and I were giggling away about all sorts of silly projects but one soon stopped us laughing as we released it could actually be really good, if done right! A White and Pink faux leather jacket and jodhpur combo. So crazy it just might work! And if I do say myself, I think it really has!

20150408_181451

I used McCalls 7100 and inspired by the antics of the sewing bee I decided to use leather instead of the recommended jersey. This soft PVC leather is really supple so it’s surprisingly easy to ease around curves and such. I even managed to get away with using a Universal needle! Though if I did it again I’d definitely use a leather needle. I really used the “finished garment size” information with this project, something I learnt from Nicole Needles in one of her Minerva Blogger Network posts. I didn’t want it too baggy and sewing to my measurements would have made a big bomber and that wasn’t quite what I wanted. I ended up sewing about 2 sizes down in the end.

20150408_181513

Complete with welt pockets- A real GBSB challenge piece! As you can see the front side panel is also in the pink leather. I had originally intended just to have the sleeves in the pink as I was worried about the colour being too much but mummy Betty reassured me it would be just enough and of course she was right. The cuffing for the sleeves, waistband and the neck are from my go to brand Prym and are pre-made cuffing. You can get waistband and sleeve cuffs, but we were out of stock of the colour I needed (SCANDAL I KNOW!) so I bought two packs of the waistband cuffing which worked out well as It meant I had enough to do the neck which I’d omitted from my original calculations – yet another scandal!. You wouldn’t imagine that was my job, would you?! (I’m good at my job,honest!)

20150408_181504

I used a tartan anti pil polar fleece for the pockets and….

20150408_181529

…THE LINING! Yes, that’s right! I drafted my own lining! I’m so proud of myself. I did a bit of research for creating your own lining and in as much as it’s more than just cutting a copy of the pieces you want to line, as I only wanted to add an insulating layer I didn’t have to be as careful as I would have been had I have been lining a dress, for example. The trick is to ensure the jacket you’re lining has facings which gives you something to actually attach the lining to. I sewed the full front length to the facing, around the front of the arm hole and the top neckline and it sits lovely and is so warm!

20150408_181544

All in all, a bit of a success!

This kind of marks the end of my winter sewing as my up and coming projects are all summer summer summer!

I’ve decided to set myself another challenge. I think I did okay (ish) at my sewathon so my new challenge is… *drum roll*

Sew my Suitcase!

now I don’t mean sewing an actual suitcase, but sewing what’s inside! My dearest other half and I are going away to Budapest this summer for Sziget festival. 10 days of sun, city and music! The last time I went abroad was to Australia and my stuff was wholly practical with a few nice pieces I picked up at K-Mart but as this is more of a holiday than an adventure (and I’m staying in an apartment not a hostel!) and taking inspiration from people sewing their own wardrobe I thought it would be great if at least 90% of my holiday wardrobe was hand sewn by yours truly! Not content with just this,but it all has to fit into a carry on D: so the game is truly on! I have some great projects in the pipe line so stay tuned for some firsts and frugality!

Craft or Glory my friends!

Katie B xo

Leave a Reply

