KATIE BETTY SEWING BEE SEWATHON #2

It’s episode 2 time! This week the team tackled children’s clothing so I decided to make a little something for the newest tiny person in my life, my friend’s niece Harriet Florence Merlot! She’s tiny and of course adorable, and a great inspiration for this weeks Sewing Bee project. Taking full advantage of the sale we have at work at the moment (including McCalls and New Look Patterns, a BAGILLION fabrics and other such joy!) I used McCalls 7038 which includes two tops, a pinafore dress and my make, Dungarees! The baby staple. I used our Plain Indigo Stretch Denim fabric to give Harriet some literal wiggle room, and at just £3.99 per metre it would be rude not to use it, really.

I hadn’t anticipated just how many pieces would go into constructing a pair of dungarees, or how much top stitching was involved! The pattern instructed you where to top stitch so you didn’t have to guess and it gives it a really professional finish. Also, with baby clothes a spontaneous motif can hide a multitude of sins and not look out of place! I wanted to make the colouring neutral, so I opted for Gutermann Sew All Col. 1pearl buttons and snap fasteners to make them a bit special.

TOP TIP! – something I learnt from reading a jeans tutorial by Jo from Three Stories High is that using the long stitch setting on your machine gives a professional look to your top stitching. I think it does, but you can obviously judge my top stitching for yourselves 😀

The thing I found interesting about making baba clothing is the practicality of it all. For example, on the pinafore dress there are, basically, sewn in knickers with poppers on the gusset so baby can crawl away and not flash everyone their nappy but also gives parents an easier time when changing bottoms! The crotch of the Dungarees also has poppers for for this instance and as interesting as it is, the sheer AMOUNT of poppers is time consuming, but definitely worth it!

I also got to tackle bias binding, which is a first for me. I learnt a bit about it from last week’s GBSB but I turned to Vicki and Annette for some hands on advice. Time consuming? Yes. Worth it? Most definitely! As you can see from the photos, I think it really works well.

The press studs were fun, as I got to whack stuff with a hammer! So bizarre that such force goes into something that will be worn by something so delicate.

I cannot tell you how many times I tried and failed at the button holes! Thank goodness there’s a stitch on my machine for this, I very nearly replaced them with velcro or snap fasteners!

20150213_19555620150213_19562320150213_195609  20150213_195629 20150213_195652

So what do you think?! Please do leave comments, and I’ll be sure to upload some pictures of Harriet sporting them!

Next week the gang are tackling Vintage! This theme was tailor made for me 😉

Craft or Glory!

Katie B

Leave a Reply

