B.C.-Before Crocheting!

Hello, hello, hello and welcome to my Crochet Diaries! A section of my blog dedicated chronicaling my learning to crochet, which will lead to The Big Project! But that’s a story for another time.

Let’s start at the beginning. All good stories start there. My previous ventures in yarn based crafts, as my dear mother can testify to, weren’t too pleasant. I couldn’t make a pom-pom without donating £20 to the swear jar first! Then I was inspired at work to learn to crochet. I said I’d start in the new year (this was in October). Then I saw it. MyBoshi. Two German guys in a rural Japanese Ski Lodge get bored and get taught to crochet by an old lady. They go home, and make a brand of it, you couldn’t make it up (“Boshi” is beanie in Japanese)! They shades are SPECTACULAR, seriously. You can order one to be made for you on their website, or you can get the supplies to make your own. So lets just say by November the 10th I was at the counter at work buying a hook and yarn.

As a personal early Christmas present, I treated myself to the MyBoshi branded crochet hook (6mm) for £1.99, but you can pick standard crochet hooks up from just  0.99p! I picked up a budget 50g ball of Double Knit (DK) yarn for 0.89p, but learn from my mistake. BUY. CHUNKY! Chunky yarn is better suited to a 6mm hook anyway, but it also makes it easier to learn where to put the hook, and help you develop your finger work. (side note-DK yarn would be best used with 3-4mm needle I’ve been advised).

Then, it was on to YouTube to find a tutorial. I would highly recommend this video, as it is the most well explained I’ve found, by far.

part one- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqca00LdmAc

part two- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DlTdOMTDkug

Thus began the practicing. Yes I said practicing! Anyone who knows me knows, and as you will soon learn,  I don’t practice. I’m one of those annoying people who can kind of just pick some things up as I go, but here some things that require practice, and even I admitted I needed practice with this. I’d already decided I’d be making Christmas scarves for people, so there was no way I was using my £5.99 King Cole Krystal straight away! (to justify the pennies, they’re 100g balls and one ball makes one chunky scarf. Makes money sense now, doesn’t it :P). So a couple of “ooh!” and “ow!” cries and 2 days later, I had a few crocheted squares dotted about my coffee table. Lining them up you can see my progression. My first few looked like fans as I learnt tension and loosened up my chain stitches et c.. Then, I practiced with a Chunky yarn at scarf width, seeing if I could actually keep 20 or so stitches continuously! So now it’s Day 5 and I’m using a 9mm crochet hook with my King Cole Krystal yarn! In total, I’d say I’ve put in 10-13hrs. Not long really! You could crack the basics in a weekend, easily. Plus, if you’re like me and like pretty quick results, you can see your progress pretty quickly, as opposed to knitting.

That’s all for now folks! I’ve just started one christmas present, so we’ll see how it goes!

Don’t forget to check out my regular craft posts, and see you next time.

Katie B x

As you can see, they left a little to be desired in the beginning!
As you can see, they left a little to be desired in the beginning!
Proudly displaying my first real Square!
Proudly displaying my first real Square!
Leave a Reply

